Whoa I Need My Morning Routine

Morning Routine.jpg

I haven’t been perfect, but I’ve been pretty good. Routines are hard for me to start. I feel like I’m being told what to do, and so I’m usually resistant to them even if they’re good for me.

I finally decided, “hey I need a morning routine.” All of my favorite podcasters go on and on about helpful it is, and how better they feel. I started to think about what I wanted my mornings to look and feel like. I liked the idea of getting up before my husband. There’s something sweet and sacred about a sleeping house, and I would finally have time that I felt was 100% mine. He gets up between 6:15 and 7:00, so I new it would have to be early…

I made a list of what I might do during my morning routine.

  • yoga
  • blog
  • meditation
  • Denneroll (It’s a foam neck form that I have to lay on periodically to make my neck more curvy…fun chiropractic stuff!)
  • read

I then made a couple of scenarios that changed based on the time I wake up. My first scenario started at 6:00 am, but I quickly realized that realistically I wouldn’t be able to do all that I wanted to do.

img_20170929_071006860958853873943975.jpg

From there I continued to back up the time until I reached the cringe worthy time of 5:15 am. Cringe worthy at first, but now I LOVE it!

Now I don’t stick to the minute like I sketched out. I keep it more fluid and give myself grace if I really just don’t want to do yoga, for example, that morning.

Just giving myself this pure “me” time starts off my day on the right foot, allows me to wake up fully before I interact with my family, and allows me to respond instead of react. My energy level is better throughout the day if I give myself this morning time.

“You can’t pour from an empty cup. Take care of yourself first.”

Now to the honesty section, yesterday morning I woke up at my 6:00 am alarm because the night before I went to bed late and was not feeling a 5:15 am wake up call. When the alarm went off that morning, I cringed, rolled out of bed and hit snooze. I didn’t get out of bed until 7:00 am, which meant no morning routine and my day felt crummy all day long.

I tried to do yoga later that morning to energize me, but I just wasn’t feeling it. Not having that time to myself really affected my entire day. That night I made sure to be in bed by 8:30 pm curled up with a good book. That’s another key to making your morning routine successful! Go to bed early. I know that’s sometimes is painful, but I’ve really learned to love it.

“You can’t burn the candle at both ends.”

Give it a go, plan out what you would like your morning routine to look like. Try it out and tweak it until you find what works for you. You’ll be happy you did!

Happy Morning!

~Jess

Leave a Reply

