Thankfulness and Gratitude After Hurricane Irma

As the sun comes up this morning after a long day of wind and rain from Hurricane Irma, I want to take a moment to be thankful. We are largely unscathed from Irma’s wrath in South Carolina, but unfortunately not all can say that.

I want to make sure to be grateful, thankful, and show grace for what can easily go unnoticed.

I have roof over my head. It may have a slight leak that we thought we stopped, but it still sheltered us from the storm.

During the storm I heard the sound of an animal cry. It sounded young and scared. I looked around but couldn’t see anything. A few minutes later I saw a squirrel running frantically on the ground from one tree to the next. I thought this was odd considering it was pouring rain, extremely windy, and no other animals were out. I continued to watch and follow this squirrel, who went to a baby squirrel in the middle of the grass (not sure if their nest got ruined or if it fell out), and picked up the baby squirrel and carried it to safety in another tree.

My family is safe and unharmed. We often only think about the human impact of storms, but I experienced first hand what animals can go through- losing homes and keeping their families safe.

We are extremely grateful for the “cushy” experience we had, never losing power, being able to stay in our home, and keeping our pet with us. We had food and water, air conditioning, and a way to communicate to our families and let them know we were okay.

Many cannot say the same, and my heart goes out to them. While many of us are able to go back to life as normal, it’s important to help those who cannot.

~Jess (and the very anxious Brody, ready for his walk outside!)

Leave a Reply

