Gratitude Journaling

I discussed Emily P. Freeman’s podcast The Next Right Thing in my last post about listing what is life giving and life draining. You can read more about that here. This morning I’m going try a new strategy that she talks about, which is gratitude journaling. Jen Riday from the podcast Vibrant Happy Women also discusses the importance listing what you are grateful for each day.

For a long time I’ve been hearing happy and successful women discuss their morning routines, and many of them mention that gratitude journaling and reflecting is a part of it.

This morning I decided to get up a half hour before my husband so that I could have the quiet house to myself. There’s something sweet about the stillness of a sleeping house. In this moment of quiet I did two meditations, one from the Meditation Minis podcast and the other from Mindshift Meditations podcast. These helped me feel more connected with my body and begin to start to wake up.

The next and final step to my morning routine that I want to start is to start gratitude journaling. There’s no rules other than list what you are grateful for. I can’t think of a more positive way to start the day.

My Gratitude Journal

August 31, 2017 

  • My husband is making breakfast
  • My lap is the first place Brody, my loving pitubull, wants to be after waking up
  • I’m journaling!
  • I feel healthy
  • I slept well
  • I managed the will power to wake up before everyone else
  • I met a friend for coffee yesterday
  • I am no longer a teacher
  • I feel more fulfilled today then I did a season ago
  • My husband supports me and challenges me to be happy and a better person
  • I have food in my fridge and a roof over my head
  • I am grateful for the support from the food study community from N equals many
    • My body is grateful that I gave up dairy and feel 100% better all around
  • I am alive another day on this Earth, and I get the opportunity to make it the best day possible

Wow! Expressing what your grateful for does put a positive spin on your day. Cheers to this feeling lasting until tomorrow for my next gratitude entry.

~Jesse

Leave a Reply

