Self-Care and 30 Days of Yoga with Adriene

I went to my first yoga class during college, but didn’t start practicing regularly until about three years ago when I moved to Washington State. I found an amazing studio with wonderful teachers, and I fell in love with yoga. I went almost every day over summer break, and took silly poses in front of beautiful backgrounds. Here is at Mt. St. Helens.

Yoga Mt. HoodAs the school year got into full swing I stopped making time for it and eventually stopped going all together. I am notoriously  bad about maintaining my self-care routines when I get busy and stressed, which is the most important time to continue them!

This school year has been particularly stressful, and I finally decided that I needed a change. Not just in career, but in how I take care of myself mentally and physically. I searched on Youtube for yoga, and I fell in LOVE with “Yoga With Adriene.”

Image result for yoga with adriene

I started her “30 Days of Yoga” series, and I am hooked! Each video ranges between 20 and 30 minutes and builds on itself. I feel so much better when I practice. I have lower back sciatic issues, and staying regular with yoga seems to keep those issues at bay.

What I love even more about Adriene’s approach is that she is silly and has fun with it. I think yoga can sometimes seem overwhelming to beginners, and she does a great job of making it approachable.

My self-care routine also includes meditating for 20 minutes either before or after yoga. This helps me feel more clear minded and able to unwind from the stresses of the day.

Passion Planner Habit Tracker.jpg

I keep track of my self-care habits using my Passion Planner. To read about other ways I use my Passion Planner read here. In the “Space of Infinite Possibility” I draw this simple chart so that I can track and better hold myself accountable with my routine. Recently I added the goal column, and it has really helped me be reflective for the following week.

As you can see my goal for yoga this week is four days. I know that I will be out of town for a few days and unable to practice, so I set my goal to reflect that. There’s no reason to automatically set myself up for failure by setting a goal that is unrealistic.

A reoccurring topic on my favorite podcast, Vibrant Happy Women With Jen Riday, is the importance of maintaining a self-care routine and making it a non-negotiable. I know that I’m not all of the way there, but I feel like I’ve made good progress!

This week give Yoga With Adriene a go and let me know what you think! I think you’ll really like it.

Namaste,

Jesse

2 thoughts on “Self-Care and 30 Days of Yoga with Adriene

Leave a Reply

