I Just Need to Write

I’m starting this post with an open heart. I haven’t written in awhile. Partly because of typical busyness with school and home errands, but also a feeling of uneasiness with what I should say, am I going to sound stupid, is ___ worth writing about, do I have the time (more like not making the time), etc.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I just need to write, and write more often. I need to stop trying to plan it out, because I seem to change topics midway anyways. I need to be honest, be regular, and just open my heart to hear what I need to. Part of this blog is to help me find my new direction, and I can’t fully do that if I’m inadvertently steering the ship, instead of letting the ship steer me.

To start…

A lot has changed since I wrote last. There are 17 days left in my teaching career, and I cannot be more excited! I’m looking forward to being in atmosphere that I love with those that I care about on a daily basis. I will be working from home with my husband and dog on his established business, while I figure myself out. I’m very grateful that his passion that has since turned into a business is affording me the ability to take a step back and explore what fills my being, what makes me want to get out of bed in the morning, what makes life feel thriving.

I have already started minimizing my classroom belongings. When I moved schools the last time it took me at least 5 SUV loads of boxes of books, materials, furniture, etc. I don’t want to bring that back to my house! Honestly I don’t want the stuff. I would love for it to be enjoyed by children and teachers, so there’s no point in me taking it home and hoarding it for the next few years until I have children. I don’t want to save things for the chance of using it in the future.

Another more exciting update is that we are moving to Austin, TX this fall! We’ve been discussing this for a long time, and revisited the city we fell in love with many years ago over spring break. Of course we fell in love with it again! We loved the creative energy, accepting culture, and overall more west coast feel than what we experience here in Charleston, SC. We used to live in Portland, OR, and Austin has a very similar culture, which we miss.

Well I think this was a good start to my getting back on the horse, but I’m going to call it a night. This is like free therapy right?

Sweet dreams,

Jess

Leave a Reply

