Whoa hormones!

In my last post I described how I was feeling about finishing out my time as a teacher. While writing that post I was exhausted and overwhelmed. I started to feel the panic and dread of going to work slipping back into my life.

I must put out a disclaimer though and say wow I think my hormones from the one and only monthly monster had a bit to do with my dismal feelings. Don’t get me wrong, I still am very excited to leave and begin my new journey (I’m not quite sure what that is yet but I’m working on it!), but I don’t quite feel like my ship is sinking as fast.

I came to this conclusion, because last week was totally different experience. I was patient, I took the time to listen and enjoy their personalities, and I took the time to actually talk with them and laugh with them. I’m going to go as far as to say that I enjoyed it enough to change my decision, but I feel like I can make it the next 50 or so days left.

A dose of perspective is also always good for the soul. I had a staff meeting mid week, and two teachers presented ideas they learned at a reading conference. They came back energized and excited to share their new tips and tricks.Their excitement was contagious, and reminded me of my years of student teaching and my first year teaching when I was so thrilled to be a teacher. I also attended conferences that were mind blowing, and left me feeling jazzed. During the meeting I was happy for them. It made me think that maybe being around teachers who are energized and love teaching would help me like it better. On the other hand if this is what I’m meant to do, shouldn’t I naturally be excited and motivated to seek out these great ideas? I shouldn’t need outside stimuli to in some ways trick myself into enjoying my profession right?

I realize that in any profession you’re not going to love every aspect of it, but I think if it’s something you love and are passionate about, the good should outweigh the bad, or at least make the bad tolerable.

 

Leave a Reply

