Try Something New Challenge: Week 1

In 2014 I lived outside of Portland, OR. Portland is known for its quirkiness, so the news station would showcase different things to do in the city. One morning before work I saw the special they did on an aerial fitness studio where you learn to use silks just like Cirque Du Soleil. I thought this would be so much fun, but I never got around to it by repeating the many excuses I mentioned here. Well it’s now 2017, and it feels like the perfect thing to try.

15941258_1901109576798441_3344806625125091159_n

I did not call up a friend to see if they would go with me. I did not make up one more reason why it wouldn’t fit into my schedule, and it felt so good!

One thing that helped prevent me from chickening out or waking up that morning and saying I don’t feel like leaving because it’s raining cats and dogs, was that Aerial Fit makes you prepay and register for your class. They also require a 24 hour cancellation notice in order to not get charged for the class if you can’t attend. Very smart I must admit!

This was a beginner’s class, so that also took away some of the intimidation factor. I learned some cool tricks, had a great time, and found that everyone was really supportive of everyone. We were all there to learn and have fun, not to judge what one can or can not do. I also was reminded that it feels good to be active, feel powerful, and creative. I will definitely be signing up for weekly classes. I’m hooked!

silks1

I allowed myself to let loose and laugh at myself as I lost my balance.

silks5

silks4

silks2

silks3

My take away…

  • Pre-paying for something ensures that I will do it.
  • I don’t have to be perfect at something the first time I do it.
  • Laugh when I goof.
  • Talk with the others around you, encourage them, and cheer for them. They’ll do the same for you.
One thought on “Try Something New Challenge: Week 1

Leave a Reply

