Podcast Wisdom

Night after night I would come home from work stressed out, tired, and drained. I would begrudgingly make dinner, which seemed like it took forever, because I would replay the whole day in mind. What could I have done better, where did I say the wrong thing, do the wrong thing, not handle a situation the right way…the list keeps going and going.

Not once did I reflect on how my students made me laugh or smile, a compliment that I got from a coworker, or a sense of accomplishment when one of my kids finally “got it.” I was stuck in this negative rotation of thoughts that filled any quiet moment. My husband, a long time podcast fan, suggested that I listen to one of his favorites called Startup Camp with Dale Partridge. I was hooked from my first listen, and I began to explore other podcasts that might fill the void that I was looking for. What I stumbled upon has given me the confidence to write this very sentence to an audience unknown. They have empowered me to explore what makes me me, and get rid of what doesn’t without looking back. I hope you take a listen and feel inspired as I do.

(These are my personal reviews of podcasts that I actually use. I’m not being paid or rewarded in any way for my review).


jen-riday-podcast-13-1I love Vibrant Happy Women with Jen Riday because she interviews women who are currently leading “vibrant happy” lives, but they discuss how they got there. Usually they have overcome a low point in their life, which led them to the path they are on now. You leave the episodes feeling uplifted, like there’s hope at the end of the tunnel, and that YOU have the power to do small things each day that will positively impact your life. Simple things like changing your outlook, your reaction, and your thinking patterns. She ends each episode with her guest giving their formula for happiness, and leaving listeners with a parting challenge to either improve their life or give insight. Check her out! You’ll be glad you did.


startupcamp-podcast

I’m a fan of Startup Camp with Dale Partridge for many reasons. His motto is “turn your passion into your profession,” and interviews business leaders who have done just that. Dale’s take on life and turning what makes you happy into a lifestyle is refreshing. He is giving me the confidence to explore what I am passionate about and meant to do so that I can create the life I want to live. His podcast is uplifting, especially if you are unhappy or unfulfilled in your current profession. He also focuses on a work life balance and says that, success at work without success at home isn’t success at all. Have no fear! This podcast isn’t just for the entrepreneurs, so don’t be afraid to try it out if starting your own business isn’t your deal.


600x600bb I find Sophia Amoruso’s #girlboss radio inspiring because she interviews successful business women and entrepreneurs about how they got to where they are today. She starts by asking about their first job, which gives good perspective that most successful people do not just start out being amazing. Most of them started from the bottom and worked their way up, and turned their dream into a reality. She also gives really good take-a-ways, bits of advice, and quotes that are uplifting and make you think. If you want to feel inspired, give #girlboss radio a listen!

2 thoughts on “Podcast Wisdom

Leave a Reply

